Posted by: David D. Daggett | June 22, 2009

Ironman #18

Ironman #18

       Wow! This has been an amazing Ironman experience in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Just a few short hours ago I finished my 18th Ironman race. It seems that each Ironman is a new journey and adventure with new lessons to be learned.

Ford Ironman Everyday Hero Award

Just last week I was humbled and surprised to learn that I would be receiving the Ford Ironman Everyday Hero Award at the Ironman welcome dinner. As the reality of the Award sinks in, it is quite moving for me. For me, “everyday hero” is probably about the highest honor I could ever receive, and the enormity of that recognition didn’t really sink in until I was on the racecourse and heard spectators and other competitors repeatedly yell out everyday hero!

The Everyday Hero Award honors our work with youth through the Safe Sober Prom Night program. We founded Safe Sober Prom Night 19 years ago and it has become a passion and part of the culture at our law firm. Many thanks go out to our entire team at Daggett Shuler – they are all my everyday heroes.

Of course winning the Award came with extra stress and burdens. There were additional appointments and obligations, including meeting with the producer and film crew with Ironman Productions. Greg and Daryl of Ironman Productions are terrific guys and a pleasure to work with. In addition to pre-race interviews and filming, they actually filmed and interviewed me on the run, literally, during the race. Of course Greg and Daryl were also there at the finish line to film and greet me. As a bit of a side note, they were not 100 percent pleased with the video captured of my finish, so they had me return to the course and come down the last 100 meters or so to finish again. The wonderful crowd was just as enthusiastic the second time around.

At the welcome dinner they played a video presentation for the Everyday Hero Award, and I was then called up on the stage with my family for the presentation and to give a short talk. An Ironman produced piece on the Everyday Hero Award will air worldwide on ESPN when the race is shown on TV. It will also air on Universal TV in the United States.  Ironman Press Release and Video here.

A close friend and media consultant for our firm, Cindy Speaker, and her team produced a short video expressing congratulations for receiving the Everyday Hero Award. It is amazing that she and her team could turn out this piece so quickly, and I appreciate her efforts.

 

      Last but not least, my very own everyday hero is my Cindy. Cindy and the kids were real troopers on race day. The weather conditions were cold, blustery, and rainy yet they persevered as diligently as any Ironman on race day. Cindy’s love and support makes me the luckiest hero of them all!

There are many more stories to tell and share with all my friends in the coming weeks. Further, we are excited to see the final product from the Ironman production team and look forward to seeing the race on TV. Many thanks to all for your love, encouragement, and support!

No. 19 here we come,

David

Responses

  1. David, great job in the race this weekend, and congrats on the award. I used to converse with you a bit on Gordo’s forum when it was up and going. Are you still doing your 10 hour weeks? Some of your posts greatly influenced the way I train and coach. Huge focus on life balance.

  2. Congratulations on the award! I really like your blog and check in from time to time. I think you do a great job of keeping Triathlon in perspective and I like your messages on keeping things in balance. Keep up the great work and congratulations on the award. I got into Wake Forest but went elsewhere but have always liked the school!


Leave a Reply

Categories

