Posted by: David D. Daggett | July 3, 2013

Epic Days

Epic Days

“Thirty percent chance of rain,” the weather person explained.  “Great, “I excitedly declared to Cindy.  “That means there is a 70 percent chance of good weather for my long bike ride into the mountains!” or, that’s at least the way the day was planned.  Little did I know it would become an “Epic Day!”

An Epic Ride Profile

An Epic Ride Profile

Twenty minutes into the ride I started seeing wet roads.  A few minutes later there were sprinkles.  No problem, a little mist at 5:30 in the morning at the beginning of a 100 plus mile ride is no big deal.  An hour later I pulled under a little shelter of a ice cream stand as a deluge with zero visibility was upon me.  I texted back and forth with Cindy, checked the weather on my smart phone, the rain started to lighten, so I decided to proceed on.

The rain was constant.  Two hours later, again monsoon level rains hit and I, now in the middle of nowhere, pull off the road under a little lean to for shelter.

There were flash flood warnings in the hills.  Water was ponding and flowing like a river.  At points, the water on the road was up to the axles on my wheels.  It was the first time I had ever been cold riding a bicycle in July in North Carolina.

The good news was that I was getting ready for the ten mile climb up and over the Eastern Continental Divide – that would give me a chance to warm up!  This was my third time on this brutal climb in the last ten days.  To my pleasant surprise, probably due to the weather, there was almost no traffic the entire way up.  The rain felt good, the legs felt good, and I set a new record up this brutal road that I have done many times over the last decade or so.

We don’t always plan our Epic Days.  Sometimes they just happen, even if we don’t expect it.  Epic Days happen at work, with our families, and certainly during Ironman training.

Epic Days harden us and make us physically tougher.  Persevering through an Epic Day makes other days and pursuits comparatively easier.  At the conclusion of the day, we then know we are capable of much more than before the day began.

Epic Relief - the cool water of the New River

Epic Relief – the cool water of the New River

Epic Days can be used for positive personal psychology (PPP).  PPP is one of those special ingredients that separates winners froma life of mediodrity.  PPP gives us the little extra internal boost we need during the tough times in order to obtain any goal worthy of fulfillment and satisfaction.  There is only one way to acquire PPP and that is to keep going, even when it hurts.

So, the next time an Epic Day surprises you, embrace it.  It gives you a unique opportunity to expand and grow.  You’ll develop a little PPP that will serve you well in all future endeavors.

Make it an Epic Day,

David

Leave a Reply

Categories

