Posted by: David D. Daggett | March 28, 2013

I Think I Can

I Think I Can

“I think I can, I think I can – toot toot, I think I can, I think I can . . . ” the first graders chanted with me as I read The Little Engine That Could to their class.  At the end of the story the kids volunteered that the story meant “you can do anything you want to do” and “never give up.”

IThinkICan

The story conveyed to the first graders the power of optimism and having a positive attitude.  These qualities may be the most important traits for having a happy and successful life.

Optimism makes us physically and mentally healthier and happier.  It gives us peace of mind, and leads to ongoing satisfaction and fulfillment.

Positive attitudes are contagious.  It makes those around us better and happier.  People with positive attitudes have more friends, and all studies on lifetime fulfillment show us that the number of friends we have are more important that the number of dollars in our bank accounts.

We become more successful with our positive attitudes.  Perhaps our greatest limiter is self–limitation.  Optimism lessens that limitation.  The great six–time Ironman winner Dave Scott once told me that when times get really tough during a race he just repeats to himself “yes, yes, yes!” and it makes him faster and stronger.

Optimists have a sense of perseverance.  Further, optimism gives us tenacity and resiliency that makes us always more likely to do better, and accomplish more.

Just like The Little Engine That Could, and those first graders, you can do anything you want to do and be anything you want to be as long as you think you can (toot, toot) and are willing to work hard enough to do it!

I think I can,

David

Responses

  1. This is good! You could add in that you ” think you can dance”!!! Love, Cdwd

    Sent from my iPad


Leave a Reply

Categories

