Posted by: David D. Daggett | September 5, 2011

Lucky It Was Me

 Lucky It Was Me

       It seemed like an ordinary Tuesday evening. I left the office at approximately 6:20 going down the two-lane road for the short drive I take to and from the office each day. On my way home I was going to pick up my 10-year-old daughter from her first field hockey practice.

       Suddenly out of the corner of my eye I saw an SUV coming from the other direction veer across the center line and into the side and rear of my car causing significant damage. I watched as the hit-and-run SUV drove off leaving me and my un-drivable car in the road. I had feelings of shock and disbelief. The officer later informed me that they arrested the drunk driver who hit me and took her straight to jail.

Lucky It Was Me!

      The whole episode still seems a bit surreal to me. Although I have aches, pains, and soreness, I’m not exactly the type to sit and cry in my Wheaties. So, let’s take a look at the sunny side of this event.

       Had this happened a split second earlier it would have been a devastating head-on collision. Had it occurred five minutes later, my daughter would have been sitting in the rear seat right where the impact was initiated. Thankfully, I was alone at the time and my family is safe.

        If not me, then who? If this event had happened either before or after me it could have been any number of the runners and bikers who were out on the road after work. In either of those instances the result would have been much more tragic.

       Or, if this had happened to an older person or a more frail person, or someone in a smaller car, or any number of other variables the result could have been much worse. Any number of other circumstances could have conspired and ended up with someone being killed.

      Now, less than five weeks from the Hawaii Ironman World Triathlon Championship, I am fortunate to be in superb physical condition. I’ll recover from the aches, pains and strains. Further, with more than 30 consecutive years of racing triathlons I have become very proficient at pain management. Those skills are coming in particularly handy at this time.

       All in all, I believe the Lord works in strange ways. I can honestly say “lucky it was me,” or the results may have been much worse. We can always be thankful.

Feeling lucky, 

David

Responses

  1. David, I so appreciate the way you always relate things in such a positive manner. Working at the courthouse every day, I often find myself jaded and suspicious. You help me to look at things through different eyes. Thank you! May the Lord continue to bless and use you through everyday happenings!

  2. This reminds me of a friend, who always says, “you can what-if a bullfrog into an elephant.” My point is: there is no such thing as luck. We can say things like, lucky it was me, but what is really meant is that God had His hand in the circumstance so that He could be glorified. We may not know how or why, but I really believe Everything happens for a reason. You are right! You were at the right place at the right time, in the right vehicle, without anyone else in the vehicle with you, because God knew that this was something you could handle, and recover quickly, and overcome. Glad you are doing well, and still able to continue training for Kona!
    As for the other driver, maybe God has plans for them. Whatever the case may be, He is in control!
    God bless you and your family!
    Eric Linn

  3. Thank goodness you’re ok! You are so incredibly positive with every circumstance you encounter. It’s inspiring and uplifting, and it matters. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

