Posted by: David D. Daggett | March 14, 2011

The Pain Train

The Pain Train       

            Do you go hard? I mean really hard. The ability to ramp it up and occasionally go really hard makes us better. Occasionally pushing it to the limit helps make other times seem easier and more tolerable. This applies to all aspects of our lives, and certainly helps us athletically.

The Pain Train

        Saturday mornings are the time for me to go hard on the bike. I typically do a solo ride of approximately 70 miles starting at the crack of dawn. Only a bit tongue in cheek I call the ride the “Pain Train.” I go as hard as I can the whole time. On time, no stopping, no complaining, no showing up late, and no slowing down.

         This past Saturday two of the top area athletes, 15 years younger than me, asked to join me. Cindy pleaded with me before I left to “. . . be careful – those guys could really hurt you!” Of course, I enjoyed the challenge and the faster than usual pace for this time of year. We, uncharacteristically, did have to stop, twice, for a young guy privacy break. I allowed them an exception to the rules.

        Passengers on the “train” can provide accountability as well as help push through to the next level. The “passengers” had fun riding my legendary route and frequently inquired where our time splits along the route fell. I think they enjoyed it and were, perhaps, pushed just a little. I spent some time as the locomotive, but I was also hanging on as the caboose at times.

        I have ridden the same route many times over the last 25+ years. It is helpful for Ironman and race build up. It is a measured standard with historical performance markers in place. I know where I need to be at various times of the year, and know how performance translates into race results.

         History on this same route reflects consistency over a very extended period of time. As we have discussed in other articles, consistency in execution over an extended period of time is critical for success in all aspects of life.

           Lastly, going hard is fun! Well, maybe not always in the middle of the intensity, but it really gets the blood flowing and provides a rewarding feeling that continues well after the session is over.

Going hard,

David

Leave a Reply

Categories

