Posted by: David D. Daggett | January 31, 2011

I Cry

I Cry     

       What makes you cry? What type of emotions trigger tears in your eyes? This past weekend my kids told me I cry a lot. Let’s take a look.

2011 U.S. Figure Skating Champions

       Tragedy, loss, and sadness usually do not make me cry. I am actually quite good at comforting others in tough or difficult situations. I don’t mind being in those situations and do the best I can to help others. Sure I feel the emotions, but I don’t necessarily cry.

       Extraordinary performances by ordinary people tend to pull a tear or two from my eyes. A beautiful anthem by a children’s choir will do it. So will extraordinary service to someone in need. Sometimes just riding my bike in the beautiful outdoors will tend to water the eyes a little.      

       Ironman athletes giving it their all when they have gone too long, too hard, and still keep going bring me to tears. The winners, the strugglers, the volunteers, and spectators can all get me at times. I suppose part of it is my love for the event, but probably more so the drama of human effort.

        What always gets me is a performer or competitor striving for their very best, yet falling short. Or, an athlete, musician, dancer or other performer who has the performance of their life. Someone working hard, giving it their all in pursuit of personal excellence is very moving to me.

      This past weekend our family went to the U.S. Figure Skating Championships. I was moved. During the finals of the Championship Pairs the team of Caitlin Yankowskas and John Coughlin gave a rousing performance that resulted in first place and the National Championship. This performance vaulted them from sixth place a year ago. The performance was moving for all in attendance. I had tears.

     Perhaps our love of amazing performance is a reflection of our own hard work, joys, triumphs, and shortcomings. Once in a lifetime efforts and performances by people who see their years of efforts and labor pay off is very moving for me.

Cry baby, cry,

David

Leave a Reply

Categories

