Posted by: David D. Daggett | August 24, 2009

The Eye Of The Storm

The Eye Of The Storm

       How do you respond when you get caught in a storm? This weekend during my long bike ride I got caught in a fairly severe storm. It made me think, metaphorically, about the various responses we can have when we are caught in the storms of life.

In the eye of the storm

Fortunately for me, I had quite a greeting committee, as shown above, when I arrived back home. Perhaps that is the best lesson from this experience – design and construct your life in such a way (The Four Anchors)in which you always know you have a welcome awaiting regardless of the storms we face.

When faced with a storm, first, we have the option of stopping. Depending on the circumstances, stopping during a storm may be the best thing to do. We need to carefully examine the circumstances we are faced with and decide whether we need to stop, or pursue further action.

Next, we can ask for, and be prepared to accept, help along the way. Many times there is help waiting for us when we face difficult circumstances. However, we need to be humble enough and cognizant enough to ask for and accept help when it is presented. Although I did not accept it, I am extremely thankful for the motorist who pulled up beside me about 20 miles from home to ask if I would like a ride. Since I was at the front end of the storm, and trying to outrun it, I proceeded to Option three.

The third option is to fight through the storms of life. Many times, there is nothing we can do except keep on going, no matter what life throws at us. We have previously discussed perseverance, and this characteristic of fighting through difficult periods of time is one of the best indicators for success we can exhibit. On the other hand, in our zest to persevere, we need to be careful not to be imprudent along the way.

I made it through the storm this weekend. I’m sure that we all have several storms that we will have to evaluate as we continue to navigate our way through life. Prudent, experienced, and character-based evaluation of the circumstances prevented will help us navigate any storms thrown our direction.

Always fighting the storm,

David

Responses

  1. David,

    Great post. So very true – about bike rides and about life in general.

    I have posted a link to this on my Twitter page.

    Best regards,

    Steve


Leave a Reply

Categories

