Posted by: David D. Daggett | January 5, 2009

Daybreak 2009

Daybreak 2009

       Cold, crisp, and clear. 2009 started off with spectacular beauty. I left home a little before 6:00 a.m. on my mountain bike for my annual New Years ride. I got asked on Facebook why I was hanging on the tree in the photo. While I was setting the mini camera up on some little stones on the bank for the self-timed photo the bike started rolling back into the lake. I had 10 seconds to fetch the bike and get set before the snap of the photo – if you look carefully you can see the rings in the water.

       Daybreak 2009

     My yearly resolutions tend to be aspirational in nature in a attempt to make me a better husband, father, lawyer, and athlete. This year I thought of several things that are definitely needed, but are a bit more tangible and pragmatic.

       How many magazines do you have laying around? I have piles of law, triathlon, business, and financial magazines laying around my office, bedroom, home office, family room, basement, and bathroom. So, I am going to work on getting rid of at least one old magazine every time a new one comes in. At least it won’t get any worse!

       Next, I tend to clip articles, take notes, and pick up papers that all end up being in stacks – everywhere! Now, mind you these stacks are somewhat neat and organized, but there are a lot of them. Therefore, the next goal is to reduce my stacks, and as they get smaller try to consolidate them. By the end of the year I should have at least one half as many stacks.

My bike garage has gotten out of control. I know that at some point I will need a piece of the brake cable that I changed out in the ‘80s, but enough is enough! Before every ride I am going to organize, toss, or otherwise straighten out at least one thing. There are a lot of things, but by the end of the year it ought to make a visible difference.

Now, a couple on the aspirational side. We are fortunate to have a wonderful team of  professionals atDaggett Shuler. I try to be encouraging and supportive. For 2009 I am going to consciously work on improving in this area.

Similarly, I am going to work harder to show love and support to my wife and children. Cindy is the best in the whole world, and I need to let her know that more often. The kids are terrific, and I probably tend to bit a bit hard on them – but I sure do love them!

Happy New Year,

David

Leave a Reply

Categories

