Posted by: David D. Daggett | June 30, 2008

The Magic

The Magic

     Do you know what it is like to feel “The Magic?” You know, those special times in your life that forever sparkle in your mind. I had one of those moments way back in 1989 when I did Ironman Europe for the first time. The moment came when I met Lotte and Dieter Reinel.

Backerei Reinel Race Morning

     Let me back up just a minute. I was off for quite an adventure. This was my first Ironman event and my first overseas race. Always one for an adventure, I dove into the town of Roth Germany thinking I could easily find a place to stay. Little did I know, I had stumbled into one of the most special places in the entire triathlon world.

Unable to locate accommodations, the only person I could find for help who spoke English was the race director’s wife. She asked if I would be willing to do a home stay, which, of course, was compatible with my adventurous spirit. So, she drew a little map on a piece of paper and sent me off to the Bakery.

I drive up to park out in front of Backerei Reinel and out runs a lady with one of the most inviting smiles I have ever seen, and her husband beaming in the background reassuringly. Wow! It was magic. We were friends for life before we even spoke the first word, which was a good thing since they spoke only German and I spoke only English.

Since that time, I have stayed with them seven times. They came over for our wedding, and we went to their daughter’s. Dieter has practiced and learned some English, and I have picked up a bit of German. Lotte still just smiles – and that’s all I need to understand her.

This is a big week – our family is heading to Germany. Certainly one of our highlights will be the moment we get to relive “The Magic,” only this time it is the five of us. I’m sure the kids will remember it for life.

Find “The Magic,”

David

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing your special times with us. This is by far one of the best. It rates right up there with holding your new baby for the first time! We appreciate your faithful weekly blogs.

    Have a wonderful well-deserved vacation!!

    Arlene

  2. […] In The Magic we discussed our trip to Germany. Part of that trip included several nights last week in a small […]

  3. […] a trip to Europe was to do Ironman Europe in 1989. I have previously discussed some of that trip in The Magic.  I loved the people, the race, the country, and the culture so much that I have returned many […]

  4. […] I previously discussed the first trip to do Ironman Europe back in 1989. On our recent trip The Magic was still there 19 years […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

