Posted by: David D. Daggett | March 17, 2008

Tune Your Smile

Tune Your Smile

     How’s your smile? Does that make you think? Is your smile tuned? If we ask an Ironman about their bike, they will be able to tell you exactly how tuned it is. Maybe we should pay the same attention to our smile.

tune-your-smile.jpg

Hawaii Ironman – 1991

     Maybe we forget the power of our smiles. It doesn’t cost anything, and we carry it with us everywhere we go. We don’t lose anything when we share it and, if we do, we usually get one in return. A smile is a priceless asset that we shouldn’t take for granted.

     Smiles came up this week in our Sunday School class. During the discussion, one classmate brought up a time 15 years ago or so when she was at the courthouse and a young (younger?) lawyer, me, shared a smile in an otherwise very serious, intimidating, and otherwise rather cold place. The interesting thing is that this occurred years before we ever met, yet she continues to fondly reflect on our encounter.

     At the 1991 Hawaii Ironman there was a group cheering for me and waiting for me at the finish. I didn’t know who they were. I was part of the fifteen hundred or so of the fittest, best conditioned people competing. All in all it was a very attractive group. But, my impromptu cheerleaders had nothing to do with any of that. They were race volunteers who said I gave the friendliest smile of all at registration, so they decided to cheer for me.

     There are many bonuses to smiling. Of course, it helps relationships and social adaptability. Moreover, evidence also shows that smiling makes you healthier, and even lowers the risk of heart disease. It even makes you race faster.

     I think maybe I needed that reminder yesterday of the importance of smiles. Mine was probably due for a bit of a Spring tune up. Since I just tuned my bike too, I decided that tuning my bike will now become my Pavlovian reminder to make sure my smile is in tune as well. Since I am quite particular about my bike, I should be tuning my smile frequently!

Always smiling,

David

Responses

  1. […]      Was it the sunshine or the holiday season that brought out all of these smiles? Or, was it a reflection of me on that ride? Whatever the reason or cause, it was certainly a reminder of the importance of smiles. We previously discussed smiles here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

