Posted by: David D. Daggett | January 7, 2008

Slow Down!

Slow Down!

     Every year for the past 20 years or so I have done my annual “Resolution Ride” on my mountain bike. I leave home very early New Year’s morning so that I can sit on the little hill on the west bank of Salem Lake and watch the sun rise. I have been out in cold, snow, rain, and everything in between. The last couple of years have been cloudy and/or rainy, but this year was spectacular!

slow-down.jpg

Daybreak 2008!

     As I sit on the edge of the lake, watching the sun rise, I meditate with a focus on the renewness that the new year brings. I need this! It renews, refreshes, and allows me to reflect on who I am and who I want to be. M y resolutions always fit within my anchors of Family, Physical, Professional, and Spiritual. The ride seems to morph them all.    

     First, let me say that everyone needs anchors. Yours don’t have to be, and shouldn’t be, the same as mine. Your “anchors” become and are your guiding principles though which your life is filtered, focused, and directed. You may also find that you will be criticized for your anchors – sometimes I am. However, you need to look in your mirror and be steadfast to who you are, and who you want to be.

     Now, sharing resolutions can be a bit difficult. I really need to “bleed” a bit on the keyboard if I am really going to disclose my resolutions. This is a bit hard for a tough guy, so please bear with me . . . and help me. I’m going to spend a few weeks pulling my personal curtain back a bit further, so please help me.

     OK, here we go. My first resolution for 2008 is to “Slow Down.” Does this perhaps apply to you? Do you think maybe we were born to race? It is part of me. The down side is that I “race” at everything. In life, I have probably run past more than I have overtaken. Read that sentence again, and think about it. This is a problem, and I need to address it head on.

     I am fit, confident, have a fabulous education, a beautiful family, have been in some ways fabulously successful, and I am full steam ahead – all the time. But, and this is a big “but,” I miss things. I “miss” people. I miss opportunities. I don’t always learn when I should. I probably miss chances for fun, relationships, enjoyment, and even love. I need to slow down in my daily life.

     So, for 2008 I am going to make a conscious effort to slow down (not in racing!), and I need your help!

Help slow me down,

David

Responses

  1. David,
    It was great to see you last night at the Wake game, if only to wave, smile and say hello. It has been way too long since I have visited with you.
    I saw Mike last night also, and it had been a very long time.
    I turned 50 in December; I remember when we were young and foolish…….and I always knew you needed to “slow down”, so I am happy to see that you are there.
    We are all so blessed in life, and slowing down to reflect and appreciate and value those who have come into our life are truly worthwhile to do.
    Your children are very precious. Adam and I were talking tonight about how you used to hold him by his feet in the air and play with him. He has never forgotten, and he’s 23 now.
    Anne Hayley, who was with me at the game, is 18 and a senior at Ledford High School. She plans to attend High Point University, major in biology and go into medicine. Kids are great!
    Take care,
    Debbie

  2. David, in the short time that I have known (knew?) you, you have always been such an inspiration to me… I literally stumbled upon your blogs — at a moment in time when I really needed some positive energy. So I thank you… for you just being you!
    Best wishes to you and the family!
    former L&D, Beth K

  3. […] This is good to the extent that we are achievers and get things done, but we may forget to slow down and chill every now and then. On the flip side, folks who are only journey oriented may have a lot […]

  4. […] off with spectacular beauty. I left home a little before 6:00 a.m. on my mountain bike for my annual New Years ride. I got asked on Facebook why I was hanging on the tree in the photo. While I was setting the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

