Posted by: David D. Daggett | September 3, 2007

How Did You Do?

How Did You Do?

      This past week was very interesting in the Ironman world. Last weekend, for the first time I believe, there were three world class Ironman events taking place at the same time – Ironman Canada, Ironman Louisville, and Ironman Korea. I had personal friends (and many acquaintances) in each of these events.

how-did-you-do.jpg

     I spent a lot of time, it seems, on the computer tracking my buddies in all three races at the same time! Fortunately they were all different time zones so I didn’t get too confused. My wife and kids seemed to enjoyed my updates, or at least tolerated my excitement. We even plugged the computer into the TV for a while so we could enjoy live web cam of the events as a family.

     Of course, I was pulling for all my buddies. My reports to the family throughout the day were along the lines of “Steve is out of the water,” “Larry’s on the Bike,” “Richard just finished.” And so the reports on John, Jordan, Jeff, Mike, Rod, Steve, Larry, Richard, Gordo, and many others went on throughout the day. And, of course, I fired off many notes of congratulations as soon as possible. We were excited for all of them!

     A very interesting trend started occurring – all the folks I know who finished toward the faster end of the spectrum seemed not fully satisfied, while the ones a bit further back (they all did pretty well) seemed very satisfied with their day, were upbeat, and optimistic. My inquisitive side started wondering why.

     My informal analysis seems to indicate that those with full, integrated, and balanced lives tend to derive more satisfaction, regardless of finishing time. I admire these folks. I have to admit that I have swung the whole spectrum on this issue, and am still working to find the “right” place.

     Most of us are not pros. Successful pros, Olympic athletes, etc. require more singular focus and more life segmentation for some life period. Others of us need to recognize that we are NOT pros, and therefore need the balanced approach to life. If we try to live the life of pros, we can only be distraught, for we will never really achieve at a pro level. These athletes need to appreciate other aspects of their lives.

     So, balancing family, career, physical, and spiritual aspects of life consistently over an extended period of times appears to be a formula for satisfaction. Note that all of these folks are still very motivated, competitive, and aspiring individuals. They just seem to do it in a whole life integrated approach as opposed to segmented fashion. Isn’t that sort of the way it goes regardless of your chosen pursuits?

     I continue to work toward full life integration and plan to write more on the topic as we progress.

David

Leave a Reply

Categories

