Posted by: David D. Daggett | August 27, 2007

We All Start Somewhere

We All Start Somewhere

     I’ve received several e-mails this past week asking me “just how many of these things have you done?” I always thought, and have been saying, that I did my first triathlon in 1981, but I went back and found the T-shirt and it says 1982 . . . so, I suppose the T-shirt wins and 1982 it is! That’s still 25 years!

     Believe it or not I actually have a photo from that first race in Crystal Lake Illinois. Take note of the tube socks, Team Schwinn T-shirt, and of course a smile! All were super cool at the time (the smile still is!).

we-all-start-somewhere.jpg

     I actually did that first race on a bit of a dare/challenge. I even had to borrow a bike the day before the race. Of course, I did the whole bike in 10th gear, the highest made at the time, because I thought it was faster. But hey, we all have to start somewhere, right?

     For me, triathlon was a natural extension of an active, healthy lifestyle, as well as a continuing outlet for my competitive side once I was out of school. Of course, Sports Illustrated and ABCs Wide World of Sports also featured a little known event called the Hawaii Ironman that year made famous by the Julie Moss crawl. So, why not do an Ironman some day?

     So, I was off and training. I remember those good old days and still think leaning your bike against a tree is a perfect transition rack! So, now I have completed more than 145 triathlons, including 16 Ironman (2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, and 26.2 mile run) events, so far.

     I have had a reasonable amount of success including numerous overall place finishes and at least one win in each of the 20-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, and overall masters divisions. I actually tend to be relatively faster and a higher place finisher the shorter the race, but I like the longer races better. I still tell the young bucks that they better “buckle their chin strap” at the sprint races!

     In a later post I will review my Ironman career, to date, and give a few insights into my psychology of those events.

Remember, like all things in life, we all have to start somewhere.

David

Leave a Reply

Categories

